Skip links

Call for Awards

Call for Award Nominations
To be presented at the 2024 Annual Meeting
June 2 – 5, 2024; Knoxville, TN

 Joint Meeting of the American Society of Reclamation Sciences
and the Appalachian Regional Reforestation Initiative
“Reclamation in Diverse Settings”

It is time to start thinking about your nominations for the 2024 ASRS major awards!

The awards program of the American Society of Reclamation Sciences is our premiere recognition of outstanding and exemplary efforts in the fields of reclamation research, teaching, practical applications, and outreach all while restoring ecosystems after ecological disturbances. Our awards committee is comprised of representatives of industry, academia, and government agencies (regulatory and research). We are now accepting nominations for the following awards:

Richard I. & Lela M. Barnhisel Reclamation Researcher of the Year Award
Reclamationist of the Year Award
Early Career Award
William T. Plass Award
Distinction in Reclamation Award
Pioneers in Reclamation

We encourage all members to give serious consideration to nominating any of the exceptionally worthy people or projects for these awards for 2024. Format information is on the ASRS website ( ) under the Awards tab and the nomination procedure is quite simple. A reference guide has been added to help with a quick review of the criteria for all awards, while the written criteria in each award nomination file helps outline the details. Remember that the successful recipient and nominator of each award receives a complimentary registration for the annual conference June 2nd – 5th, 2024 in Knoxville TN. — just another incentive to nominate a worthy co-worker/acquaintance in the field of reclamation sciences. Nominations are due February 29th, 2024; this gives the Awards Committee time to evaluate the nominations and gives our society staff time to get the appropriate accolades prepared. Please submit your nominations to Paul Griswold at as well as any questions.
Please ensure that your letters of recommendation are included as a part of the nomination document. Unsuccessful past nominations may be revised and resubmitted, the Awards Committee Chair will be in contact with those who qualify. Please abide by the nomination length limits which enable all nominations to receive equal and fair evaluations and comparisons. Now is the time to start preparing your nominations. We are hoping for a record year of nominations for 2024 and look forward to seeing you all in Knoxville.

See past award winners and more information here on our awards page!
Academics: please consider Student Awards and find more information here.