Skip links


Serving our Organization as an Officer

Learn More

ASRS officers are elected in the fall by the membership. Candidates can be any member who chooses to run for office. Each Technical Division (TD) Representative to the National Executive Council (NEC) is selected by the TD Chairperson or elected by the ASRS membership. The Early Career Representative on the NEC is restricted to an individual with 10 or fewer years of experience in the profession. The Executive Director is an ex-officio member of the NEC and is appointed by the NEC.

Officers’ terms start in the spring at the ASRS Annual National Meeting. Serving sequentially for one year each are the President-Elect, President, and Past President. The four National Executive Committee (NEC) delegates serve in pairs with staggered two-year terms. The Early Career representative serves a two-year term. The Executive Director is not limited to a specific term as ex-officio.

Our Officers