Skip links

2021 Meeting & Awards

2021 Business Meeting & Awards Ceremony

The 2021 ASRS Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony took place on June 10, 2021 via Zoom.

Watch Recording

2021 ASRS Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony

2021 ASRS Professional Award Winners

Download PDF Version

William T. Plass Award

This award is the highest honor the Society has and recognizes those in research, teaching, outreach, and administration. The award is given to a person who has distinguished themselves in the field of disturbed ecosystem reclamation at the local, regional, national, and international levels.

Louis M. McDonald

Nominated by Jeff Skousen
Read More

Richard I. & Lela M. Barnhisel Reclamation Researcher of the Year Award

The Richard I. and Lela M. Barnhisel Reclamation Researcher of the Year award recognizes substantial contributions to the advancement of reclamation science and technology through scientific research.

William H. Strosnider

Nominated by Natalie Kruse-Daniels
Read More

Reclamationist of the Year Award

The Reclamationist of the Year award recognizes individuals demonstrating outstanding accomplishments in the practical application or evaluation of reclamation technology. It also rewards individuals responsible for implementing innovative practices or designs for new reclamation strategies.

Joshua Sorenson

Nominated by Pete Stahl
Read More

Early Career Award

This award is intended to recognize an early career member of ASRS that is involved in reclamation research, teaching, and/or on-the-ground reclamation practices within academics, regulatory oversite, or in an industry position. The nominee must have been employed in their field for a minimum of three years but not more than ten years.

Kenton L. Sena

Nominated by Chris Barton
Read More

Distinction in Reclamation Award

This award recognizes a specific project in which a company has demonstrated excellence in reclamation design, implementation, and overall success, resulting in the conservation of natural resources and the ecosystem.

Teck American Inc. and Halliburton

Nominated by Mariah O’ Brien
Read More

ASRS Memorial Scholarships

Download PDF Version

The memorial scholarships are awarded in commemoration of deceased ASRS members. They are granted to deserving students from universities, colleges, or community colleges that offer curricula in a scientific discipline directly related to, and leading toward, a profession in reclamation-related work.

Hannah Curtis

Bachelor of Science
Read More

Brianna Slothower

Master of Science
Read More

Brandon Holzbauer-Sweitzer

Doctor of Philosophy
Read More